ArizonaHikers Portal Index
HomeHome   BoardBoard   AZH GearAZH Gear  FAQFAQ  RulesRules   SearchSearch
MemberlistMembers  ArticlesArticles  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  LinksLinks      RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messages   Log inLog in
4 Peaks Mother Lode
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ArizonaHikers - Community Based Hiking Discussion Board Forum Index -> Trip Logs & Trail Descriptions Email to a Friend
  View previous topic :: View next topic  
LongStoryShort

PostPosted: 4/23/2006, 4:35 pm    Post subject: 4 Peaks Mother Lode Reply to topic Reply with quote

Where do I start? I don't have much experience climbing, actually, I have no experience climbing, but the 4 Peaks was one of those things on my "things to do before I die" list. Why? I don't know, it wasn't so much the appeal of the mountains, but the appeal of the adventure. My best friend Ken (Desert-Boonie), and 3 time Mother Loder, suggested that this might be the last weekend to get it in before it got too hot. So I figured I'm as prepared as I'm ever going to be, and I told him I'm in.

Later that week.....

Ken calls me and tells me that we may have another climber with us. I knew instantly who it was, our friend Kim (Kim*). I was kind of surprised, and he told me that he told her that this was a serious event and it was no joke. I didn't have much room to talk, because I was a first timer as well. Kim didn't know for sure if she was going to do it, she was nervous and afraid of heights (me too...). So the ongoing joke was that she was going to crew for us, and be our cook. Laughing