ArizonaHikers Portal Index
HomeHome   BoardBoard   AZH GearAZH Gear  FAQFAQ  RulesRules   SearchSearch
MemberlistMembers  ArticlesArticles  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  LinksLinks      RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messages   Log inLog in
Map & Compass Skills?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ArizonaHikers - Community Based Hiking Discussion Board Forum Index -> Polls Email to a Friend
  View previous topic :: View next topic  

How would you clasify your basic navigation skills?
I'm an expert: I can navigate at night, blindfolded, using only the stars
8%
 8%  [ 3 ]
I'm pretty good: I can read topo maps no problem and use a compass to guide me through the outdoors
60%
 60%  [ 21 ]
I'm a novice: I own a compass and usually carry a map, but don't understand all the concepts of navigation
20%
 20%  [ 7 ]
No clue: I've never used a compass, get confused with topo maps, and Mapquest scares me
11%
 11%  [ 4 ]
Total Votes : 35

tempe8

PostPosted: 8/4/2004, 5:39 pm    Post subject: Map & Compass Skills? Reply to topic Reply with quote

I thought of this poll after reading the thread about survival techniques to get fire or water. Well since most of us aren't Cody Lundin or Army Rangers...how good are we at just getting ourselves back home to civilization? I know, there's a whole 'nother topic on GPS...but I'm curious how everyone is at just using a basic compass and topo map to get yourself un-lost and back to water, warmth, and food?
evenstar

PostPosted: 8/4/2004, 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

The first time I hiked Ford Canyon Trail in the White Tanks, I wandered way off course; it was my compass and the park map that got me back to the trail. Wasn't much skill invloved.....the compass told me I was heading northwest and the park map clearly showed the trail heading southwest.....turned out I was following an old Jeep track. Crazy