ArizonaHikers Portal Index
HomeHome   BoardBoard   AZH GearAZH Gear  FAQFAQ  RulesRules   SearchSearch
MemberlistMembers  ArticlesArticles  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  LinksLinks      RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messages   Log inLog in
Alternatives if LCR is muddy?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ArizonaHikers - Community Based Hiking Discussion Board Forum Index -> Hiking, Backpacking & Camping Email to a Friend
  View previous topic :: View next topic  
benthegrate

PostPosted: 9/16/2009, 4:02 pm    Post subject: Alternatives if LCR is muddy? Reply to topic Reply with quote

Hi, folks! I'm a newbie on the board, but not to the area.

A couple of friends and I are planning on doing a round-trip Salt Trail hike into the LCR gorge in mid October. If the LCR happens to be flowing brown, however, we won't do the hike and will need an alternative 3-4 day backpack before we move to some day hiking to ruins and slots in southern Utah. (Then we meet west coast friends for a long weekend in Havasupai.)

I was thinking Thunder River, though I've never tried to get permits this late for GCNP hikes. I know this is one of the more remote areas of the park, but October is primo hiking time for it...do y'all think it'll be impossible getting a permit this late?

Any other suggestions for a nice multi-day backpack GC country, or possibly southern Utah? I've done Paria and there's no chance of us getting a permit for that anyway...

Suggestions are definitely appreciated!

Cheers!

Ben from Dallas
Suz

PostPosted: 9/16/2009, 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

wave Hi Ben,
Welcome to the site.
It can be very difficult to catch the LCR when it's blue.......good luck with that.

That entire area is such a wonderful part of our state/country with so much to explore. Hopefully others will jump in to offer ideas.
kurthzone
Thread Killer

PostPosted: 9/17/2009, 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote