ArizonaHikers Portal Index
HomeHome   BoardBoard   AZH GearAZH Gear  FAQFAQ  RulesRules   SearchSearch
MemberlistMembers  ArticlesArticles  CalendarCalendar  GalleryGallery  LinksLinks      RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messages   Log inLog in
Any recommendations for somebody new to the area

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ArizonaHikers - Community Based Hiking Discussion Board Forum Index -> Hiking, Backpacking & Camping Email to a Friend
  View previous topic :: View next topic  
jamesallenaz

PostPosted: 1/22/2003, 2:33 pm    Post subject: Any recommendations for somebody new to the area Reply to topic Reply with quote

Hi ... I'm new to PHX hiking scene ... and would love to see some more of the outdoors .... recommendations ... or a tag-a-long would be appreciated. I've been up to Sedona where the pink jeeps get in the way ... surely there are some less commercialized hiking spots around!

James Smile
dimonfire

PostPosted: 1/22/2003, 3:42 pm    Post subject: For someone new to the area Reply to topic Reply with quote

You can't go wrong with the Superstitions. It's close to the valley and there are a lot of trails that don't have a lot of traffic. Bluff Springs is a 10 miler but if you want shorter ones, that can be done too. Just pick up a hiking guide and remember that a compass in the Sups helps, a lot. As for Sedona, Secret Canyon or other west Sedona hikes are less travelled.
gps_hiker

PostPosted: 1/22/2003, 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote

1) Lost Dutchman State Park has several trails including the Siphon Draw Trail to Flatiron. ( Superstition Mountains )

2)South Mountain Park has tons of trails.

3)Else you could always climb the trail up Camelback Mtn or Squaw Peak
RockCrawler

PostPosted: 1/22/2003, 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply to topic Reply with quote